Skip to content

Jimmy Pickering-creepy cute, for the kid in all of us

October 24, 2007

I’m always thrilled to find out that people who I admire are social networking. It’s weird, but it gives me a sense that I’m not alone in the world, and that out there are other people who do things that inspire me, but they have lives and personalities and other things they do as well. Sort of like getting to be backstage during a theatrical production: you can still see the glitz and the glam of what the actors DO, but you also get to see them when their character breaks and all the things that go on behind the scenes.

I suppose it’s the same reason why I watch DVD commentaries.

Anyway, I found out this evening that Jimmy Pickering has a blog. Who is Jimmy Pickering, you might ask? Jimmy is the incredibly talented illustrator behind one of my favorite children’s books: “Somethin’ Pumpkin”, as well as a gallery artist. His quirky, funky, creepy style is somewhat Burtonesque–if you took Tim Burton to Disneyland and fed him lots and lots of candy. When I was working as a children’s library associate a few years ago, I spent a lot of time reading his books, and studying his style for various storytime projects. I love his use of saturated colors, intricate design elements in the backgrounds, interesting textures, and bold curving lines. If you’ve got little ones who enjoy a little harmless scary in their bedtime stories, pick up some of Mr. Pickering’s books.

Also, he’s a Pirates of the Caribbean fan and an amusement park kid like me–gotta love that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

