Skip to content

Prince of Denmark

November 9, 2007

New painting:
Prince of Denmark

I approached this a little differently than I usually do for paintings, and I really liked how it worked out. I think I’m going to try the same technique from now on when working on things. This only took about eight or nine hours (an evening and part of an afternoon the following day). I wanted something that would work with a book cover layout, but I was really aiming for the idea that Shakespeare’s work is timeless. Hamlet needn’t be dressed in tights and puffy shirt to get across the idea that he’s Hamlet, you know? I was trying to capture that sense of premeditated madness and the slow boiling of his hatred for what his uncle has done, as well as an atmosphere that oozes that “something rotten” feeling.

Also, I had a wicked good time painting the skull.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

