Skip to content

Time Lapse Video: A Sharpened Heart

February 28, 2008

New video time lapse:

I went about this one a little differently than I normally do. My usual technique involves a loose sketch and then painting on top of it in color. This time I started in black and white, rendering the image to about 90% finished that way, before adding the color on top at the end to finish it up. I’ve noticed that a lot of digital painters work this way, but I don’t usually like the results when I do it. For this, however, it worked, giving her a distinctly dark, creepy feel that offsets the brilliant red of her costume.

Her costume, by the way, is based loosely on a costume I designed for a play version of Alice in Wonderland back in high school.

(Click the image to purchase prints or to view larger)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2008 5:34 pm

    Outstanding! I really wish I had one drop of your talent. That could be a painting, oh wait, I don’t have the skills.

  2. May 23, 2008 10:45 am

    I am awestruck by your skill and technical acumen combined with your uncompromising vision.

    I learned so much just watching you work.

    Thank you.

    Wow.

  3. Jervis Tetch permalink
    February 7, 2009 5:02 pm

    I had been recently looking for Alice and Wonderland pictures, its more of a Fetish that I sort of have with it’s works. I had come across your Sketch and I have to say that I am thrilled to see such Art Work. I Love it! I have never seen a picture of the Queen like this ever, and I wanted your permission to place it on my Site? I would Love to add it.

    Also I know this is a Bit Far Fetched but I was wondering if you were ever interested or if you had the time to make a Mad Hatter. I don’t like the pictures that are out there and if you can make the Queen look this Dark I would Love to See what you could do with a Mad Hatter.

    Please Contact me,

  4. Malice in Sanitariumland permalink
    March 5, 2009 1:55 am

    that’s amazing! I surely go insane (even more yet) if i have to do that!! you’re awesome!! it’sreally unbelievable!!!!!! you totally rock!!

  5. July 28, 2010 4:09 pm

    hellllooo!!!!
    I found the owner of the design!
    I did a cosplay of the red queen trying to imitate your drawing!
    I hope you like! (excuse my English use google XD)


    ^_______________________^

Leave a Reply

