Skip to content

Green and Sultry Summers

March 13, 2008

As always, prints are available through my Store

I dream of green and sultry summers, and the light that dapples the damp, still places of home.

I started this painting because I missed Florida. My husband and I talked about it one night, how some people only see Florida as a tourist trap, or a waiting room (waiting to get on a ride, waiting to get to another state, waiting to die). But some of us… some of us love it there, it’s in our blood, it’s home. That’s the way it is with my husband and I. He’s been gone from there much longer than I have. But after only a few months living in Missouri, where the winters are gray and brown and cold, I *really* miss Florida. Luckily, what started as a painting about longing is now a painting about happiness: we’re moving back in a few months. He found a great job there. Which is good because as you can see, I miss my swamplands.

Of all my paintings, this one feels the most personal, the closest to me. I can wax six kinds of poetical about Florida and the flora and fauna that you love to loathe to love.

Also, I’d like to point you here. If you’ve the cash or time to spare, Florida would appreciate it if you wanted to appreciate her a little bit longer.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2008 3:17 pm

    That is Beautiful! The color is haunting.

  2. March 21, 2008 3:54 pm

    As a native Floridian, I totally understand. There is something magical and otherworldly about the place, and you’ve captured that beautifully here.

    … Though admittedly I was never lucky enough to catch this particular combination of fauna in Florida! 😉

  3. April 7, 2008 1:26 am

    Very cool picture! I too am a big FL fan, there is no place in the world I would rather live.

  4. June 18, 2008 4:25 pm

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Zealot
    .

Leave a Reply

