Skip to content

Burning Bright

August 7, 2008

I actually finished this one about a week ago:

This is my contest entry for Pixelbrush.net’s “Classically Revived” event. The challenge was to take a painting by one of the old masters and reinterpret it with a twist. I chose The Pelt Merchant of Cairo” by Jean-Léon Gérôme and decided to transform him into a genie (or d’jinni?) and bring the tiger back to life. I kept the color scheme and centralized composition, as well as the face and turban of the merchant. Other elements of the original were reinterpreted: the buildings became caves, the helmet became the lamp and so on.

You can see the WIP from beginning sketch to final piece (and I’ll be uploading some detail shots as well), here: [link]

click the image to go to my dA page. Prints are available through my dA store.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2008 10:25 am

    Each picture is more enchanting then the next. Someday, I hope I’ll be able to put half as much story into things..

    And bad boys. Lord, the bad boys I would paint…

  2. March 6, 2010 2:05 pm

    RUawof Excellent article, I will take note. Many thanks for the story!

  3. October 8, 2014 5:44 am

    #uname, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3JFr5nft6qs

    Your opinion, this your opinion

Leave a Reply

