Skip to content

Autumn and New Artwork in Gallery

September 24, 2008

It’s fall in Florida. The wind is cool, the windows are open. I love fall. I can’t get enough of it. I’m going to carve a bajillion pumpkins and sit them out on the circular steps that lead up to the front door, and string fake spider webs from the columns and in the trees. Maybe sit a few styrofoam gravestones in the yard.

Some days I’m such a kid.

Anyway, posting new art up today in the Gallery.

Capricorn is a digital painting, and a possibility for a 2009 calendar I need to get cranking on.

Raven Remembers is my first oil painting in over eight years. My last few attempts were wretched, but I found some wonderful tutorials by Dan Dos Santos that helped me figure out *how* to actually oil paint (I used to just slap the paint straight on an unprepared canvas right out of the tube… yeeech). It’s not perfect, but it was a great learning piece. I’m definitely planning on trying some more oils in the future, now that I have space to work with them.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. bariguy permalink
    October 2, 2008 9:27 pm

    I wish I could convince/we had the money this year to go all out for Halloween. I miss the plastic pumpkin lights, the flickering jack o’ lanterns.

    I’m looking forward to fall in Florida. As much as I love this place, the heat in high summer can get to me. It’s the lazy days of cool bright sun in winter that call to me the most. When I can open up all the windows and turn the AC off, it’s like shaking off the dust of years.

  2. October 2, 2008 9:29 pm

    That…was me logged into my husbands WordPress account in order to fix the stats on 2phatgeeks…I had NO idea you could comment like that! ūüėÄ

Leave a Reply

