Skip to content

Happy Holidays

December 22, 2008

Happy Holidays from me to all of you.

The holiday season is always my busiest time of year. I spend a lot of time traveling, visiting family. Then it’s my birthday, then New Years, then my mother’s birthday, then I fly out to San Francisco for Macworld Conference and Expo. And I get back just in time for my sister’s birthday!

I’m looking forward to Macworld this year. Corel and Massive Black have teamed up to do a panel on digital art, with Andrew Jones and Jason Manley as part of the panel. With all the crap flying around because of the lack of Steve Jobs Keynote (really? This matters to people?) and Apple’s planned pullout of the conference next year (um, again… more space for stuff besides marketing is a good thing, right?), it’s nice to be able to say that I’m emphatically looking forward to a conference session that has NOTHING to do whatsoever with Apple. Aside from using their computers, that is.

I’m also trying to finish up my entry in the latest CGSociety challenge: Steampunk Myths and Legends. I still think I’m insane for even trying, since Steampunk is seriously not my forte. I also had to go and pick a scene that involves complicated perspective, lots of objects, mechanical things… gah! none of which I’m strong on but all of which I really needed to prove to myself I was capable of doing. I’m pretty pleased with my efforts so far, I just need to make sure I’m done before I have to leave for SF. You can check out the Work in Progress for it here: Steampunk Beauty and the Beast.

I hope you have a wonderful Holiday season (no matter what you celebrate), and I also want to say Happy Birthday to some of my favorite artists who share the pain of having a holiday birthday with me:

Louisa Gaille, Meredith Dillman, Amy Edwards and Kiriko Moth,

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2008 5:11 pm

    🙂 thanks! You too and all the best for the season!

    @IllustrationArt

  2. faerywitch permalink
    December 22, 2008 10:16 pm

    Happy Holidays to you too! Have fun, a safe trip and a very nice Birthday!
    And lovely candycane lady!

  3. December 23, 2008 3:01 pm

    How creative of you! A candy cane lady! Right down to the peppermint candy eyes! Bravo! 🙂

Leave a Reply

