Skip to content

New Year – New Art – Same old me

February 7, 2009

It’s been a long month. And I seriously needed to update here with more art… but it kind of got shoved to the back with so much else going on.

In early January I had to deal with a copyright infringement problem where one of my images had been used as the cover of a German paperback novel–without permission of course.

Once that was straightened out, I caught the flu for about a week, and watched the inauguration while bundled up in bed and sipping ginger ale and cold medicine.

This last week has been devoted toward resolving another copyright issue. This time a Facebook RPG game that was using artwork from all over deviantART, including a few of mine.

But that looks to be resolved now and it’s time to get back to the drawing board. Finally. Above you can see some progress steps from my new WIP. I feel like this is a painting I’ve been working on for a much longer time than just a few weeks. It has shades of previous paintings: Mistletoe, King of Darkness, Constantine, Sunshine and Shadow and more… it’s the same idea that I’ve been sketching over and over in various forms for the last few years. It’s a little bit Bouguereau, a little bit Froud, a little Linda Bergkvist, and a whole lot of the things that make me tick as an artist, and I’m really excited that it’s all finally meshing together so well.

I’m also looking at redesigning my site. This is something I *hate* doing, as I’m horrible at coding, so I’m also looking at other options. Unfortunately I’m not that rich so I may be forced to do it myself.

My other goal in the next few months is to start sending out emails to Art Directors. I’m finally at the place where I feel comfortable with what I can do–something I didn’t feel before. There was always that nagging voice in the back of my head saying “But you suck at this, and this and this…” I finally told it to take a hike. The e-book publishing market is nice and all… but hardly what I want to be doing for the rest of my career.

I also recently put together a wallpaper pack. It’s free to use on your own desktop, but obviously not for commercial purposes of any sort. Click the image below to go to the webpage and then click the download link on the left to get the wallpaper pack.

Blog Pimping

Since it’s been a while since I last updated I wanted to point out some awesome sites that I think are well worth a visit (or a subscription to their RSS feed):

  • Ninja Mountain Podcasts – the boys over at Ninja Mountain–Pat McEvoy (Marvel, Sony), Jeremy McHugh (White Wolf), Andy Hepworth (White Wolf, Ulises-Spiele) and Jon Hodgson (Wotc, Paizo)–have just posted their second podcast. It’s well worth a listen, not just for all the great advice they give about the fantasy art and illustration industry, but also because they’re funny, and all have incredibly sexy voices. Rrrrrow.
  • The Art Department – I may have mentioned this one before, but if so I’ve forgotten. I *love* The Art Department. It’s a great blog written by Irene Gallo, Art Director at Tor publishing. She’s always posting great links to what’s going on in the sci-fi/fantasy art field and pointing out artists that I’ve been coming to love.
  • Lines and Colors – It’s hard to find an art lover that treats fantasy/sci-fi and comic book artwork with the same respect and awe as classical art and modern fine artists, but Charley Parker’s clearly a big fan of Good Art, no matter what form it takes. I love reading his new posts, pointing out contemporary fine artists, fantasy illustrators, and long dead classical artists that are worth checking out. I’ve found some of my favorite influences this way, and I hope he keeps this blog up for a long, long time to come. My only complaint is “Charley? Where’s the girl artists?” Cause we’re out here, too.
  • PlagiarismToday – As most people who follow me on any of my various sites know, copyright infringement and artists’ rights are my personal cause. I’m kind of rabid about it. Jonathan’s blog, PlagiarismToday, is one of the best resources out there right now for finding out what’s going on in the world of copyright news, and especially in the realm of INTERNET copyright issues. Not to mention he’s a great supporter of artists’ rights. With the recent Hammerfall debacle, he was one of the major reasons we got it resolved so quickly, and without his help I’m not sure it could have been done.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2009 10:37 pm

    Fabulous bloggage, Mel!

  2. A. Figart permalink
    February 16, 2009 3:26 am

    Yeah! I enjoyed reading through your site, too! … and ignore that nagging voice!!!! It is absolutely and completely a total ignoramous! The Art Directors will be climbing all over themselves to have you work with them :0)

  3. M'jo permalink
    March 10, 2009 8:57 pm

    I love the wallpaper pack – thanks! And, Andi’s right: ignore the voice. You have always been dripping in talent (that sounds gross, doesn’t it???) and you’re just getting better and better and better. The geni and tigers piece is incredible and I covet it. Who wouldn’t want some of your work? you’re incredible.

  4. William voiles permalink
    June 25, 2016 12:52 pm

    I’m an artist in New Orleans for my income I make handmade necklaces sorry I don’t use paint or die I use only ribbon in my art well to make a long story short I’ve spent the past three years working on some big pieces I have finished a hat (that took a year and a week to complete). A belt that took about two years to complete and the first wall portrait anyway I’m wanting to sell one of those pieces and someone told me I need to get them commissioned in order to get the price I want for it if you want to see the wall portrait go to Cynnamon’s crosses on Facebook

Leave a Reply

