Skip to content

Live Painting Sessions, ConceptArt.org, and Trees

April 7, 2009

This is a preview of a current work in progress. Last week I worked on it during a live, streaming video session on Ustream. I’m going to try to do these sessions once a week, probably on Wednesdays at 1 pm EST for about an hour. If you can log in during that time, you can ask questions in the chatroom, which I will answer during the broadcast. If you can’t catch the broadcast live, however, you can watch the recorded sessions on my Ustream channel later.

Check it out here: MFindley-Live digital drawing & Painting

Two new finished images up in the gallery. “In the Twilight Court” is finally done, as well as another, slightly different take on the Faerie King, Oberon–as I imagined him for a ConceptArt.org CHOW session. If you have no clue what I’m talking about, head on over to the forums on ConceptArt and check out their Character of the Week (CHOW) challenges. I was a little nervous about participating at first, but everyone has been really welcoming and kind and I’ve been having a lot of fun.

Right now I’m taking part in the month long Team CHOW event. My team consists of the awesomeness that is Christine Griffin, Louisa Gallie, and Erika Harm as well as myself. We’ve dubbed our little group “The Weird Sisters” and have been coming up with some really fun concepts and sketches that will be fleshed out by the end of the month. Will we win? Who cares! The fun is in the challenge, right?

In other news: maybe all my griping about tree bark came back to bite me in the ass. We had a nasty twenty minute storm last Thursday and a lightning bolt demolished one of the huge old trees in my backyard. One of the massive limbs came down, taking out part of the roof. My stepson was laying in bed right beneath where the limb came through and narrowly escaped the ceiling collapsing on him. We’re really relieved no one was hurt, but there’s now a pretty big hole in the roof that’s going to need patched, and some interior work to repair the water damage. The cost of the repairs is covered (we’re renting and the owner’s insurance is taking care of it). I have a healthier respect for trees and lightning now. And I twitch a little every time I hear a loud bump.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 7, 2009 5:32 am

    Wow! Glad to hear no one was hurt.. that sounds terrifying. So awesome that you managed to still get work done and keep up with your live broadcast session. Good luck with the CHOW! 🙂

Leave a Reply

