Skip to content

Just a quick update & Sketches

June 5, 2009

Some quick sketches done this morning to loosen up. Some sketches in there based on Twitter pics, too. It’s funny how such teeeeny little pictures can make people look totally different to how they really look. Sketches on the right (to the right of my signature), were done without reference. I know, I’m a bad person.

I hadn’t updated in a couple of weeks, so I thought I’d give you all some eye candy to look at.

I also want to point all of you over at Artemisia:

Artemisia is a blog project that I started back in March with friend and artist Louisa Gallie. She was visiting me (all the way from Scotland) for a couple of weeks, and one day we started grousing over the dearth of hot sexy guys in fantasy art and how all the juried books and contests etc seemed to be presided over mainly by men. Also, even though the two of us are personally accquainted with a ton of female artists, they never seemed to get much exposure–at least not compared to the men.

So we started Artemisia in an effort to correct some of those imbalances. It’s a blog about fantasy art, and being a female artist working in the industy. It’s about promoting other female artists. And it’s also about equal rights: if women must be objectified… why can’t men be too?

Some of it is a little risque, and sometimes we’re probably a little too opinionated for our own good. But we try to be honest, and base our opinions on our own experiences and observations. We also do a lot of interviews with other female artists out there (and a few men!). So if you’re looking for a new blog to read, well… I thought I’d mention it. (And I do actually update over there more than I do here.)

It’s also starting to get some major attention from different places in the industry, which we’re pretty excited about, actually. 😀

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 5, 2009 5:46 pm

    Shoot, the ones done w/o ref are faboo! If by ‘bad’ you mean ‘baaaad-ass!” I’ll buy that!

Leave a Reply

